AFSA Presents Ten Scholarships to Teens

The American Fire Sprinkler Association (AFSA) has offered scholarships to ten graduating high school seniors. 70,742 student entered to receive a one-time $2,000 AFSA scholarship payable to their respective college, university or trade school.

The ten national winners for 2016-2017 are:

- Miljana Djurovic, Des Plaines, Illinois

- Zachary Duncan, Okemah, Oklahoma

- Karolina Madro, Roselle, Illinois

- Kendall McCulty, Los Angeles, California

- Emily Miller, Bluffton, Indiana

- Angela Murillo, Coachella, California

- Robert Nelson, Winslow, Arizona

- Anna Newton, Oxford, North Carolina

- Cameron Smith, Redlands, California

- Sarah Sutton, Sandwich, Massachusetts

To be eligible, applicants must be a current high school senior planning to attend an accredited U.S. college, university or trade school in the coming fall. Applicants were required to read a passage about fire sprinklers and take an eight-question reading comprehension test.

Since its creation in 1996, the AFSA Scholarship Contest has sought to promote the scholarship outside of the fire sprinkler industry in the hope of reaching students who may otherwise never have recognized the importance of automatic fire protection.

Content Type: